top of page

Cornell University


Cornell University is a private Ivy League university in Ithaca, New York. Cornell is a unique university with world class professors. However, there is much more to Cornell than most people believe. I decided to apply to Cornell mainly because one of my best friends fell in love with the school when she visited. I had always pictured myself going to school in an urban setting, kind of like New York City. I looked into what Cornell had to offer and thought it would be wise to see if I had shot. Once Ivy League Day rolled around and I found out I had gotten in, I could not contain my joy. I visited during spring break and felt like I belonged there. I did not mind being near gorges and waterfalls one bit; it felt peaceful, actually. I decided I was going to attend Cornell a few weeks after my spring break when I received my financial aid packet. During the short time I visited Cornell I encountered the friendliest staff (professors and advisors), made some friends, and ate amazing food. (Side note: If you’re as into food as I am, then Cornell’s Dining will have you in awe. It is ranked #3 in the nation by the Princeton Review 2017. I can testify to this and say the food is amazing. Food will not be a problem if you decide to go to Cornell.) Cornell is a diverse university in almost every aspect; it has a multitude of clubs, organizations, and classes. My class, the Class of 2021, is the most diverse (and interesting) class on campus yet. Students who self-identify as an underrepresented minority represent 30.2% of the class. Students of color represent 52.5% of the class. International students represent 9% of the class. (Cornell’s acceptance rate for the Class of 2021 was 12.5%.) Some notable alumni include Bill Nye (‘77) and Mae C. Jemison (‘81). Overall, Cornell University has a large campus and Ithaca revolves around Cornell. It also get very cold during the winters (however, keep in mind that there is no such thing a bad weather, just bad clothing). If you’re a Harry Potter fan, then you’ll love the architecture at Cornell. Remember that college is what you make of it! Cornell’s Rankings: #15 in the Nation’s Best Colleges (US & World Report News) #3 in the Princeton Review’s “Best Campus Food, 2017” #16 in the QS World University Rankings 2016-17 #13 in the Nation’s Best Engineering Schools (US & World Report News) #13 in the Nation’s Best Law Schools (US & World Report News) #11 in the Nation’s Best Biological Science Programs (US & World Report News) #16 in the Nation’s Best Business Schools (US & World Report News)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page